Roast chicken drumsticks with blueberry marinade

Since starting the AIP, I’ve been tinkering with approved ingredients to flavour foods and I must say it involves thinking out of the box (my box, anyway).  Matching flavours and ingredients is usually intuitive to me, though I have a tendency of layering many flavours (perhaps more than necessary).  In this case I wanted to create a AIP-friendly marinade for meats.  Since I had a big bag of frozen wild blueberries in my freezer, I figured it could be used as blueberries are high in pectin which would help thicken the marinade.  In keeping with the nordic/boreal theme, I added some maple syrup as well.  Everyone was pretty happy with the first attempt, and the drumsticks were nice eaten cold for a picnic, though freshly roasted is far more fragrant and juicy.

Roast chicken drumsticks with blueberry marinade

Roast chicken drumsticks with blueberry marinade

Ingredients (Serves 6)

For the marinade (makes approximately 1 cup):

  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 4 green onions, roughly chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup, divided
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • Zest from 1 organic lemon
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 12 chicken drumsticks

Method

  • Place all ingredients except for chicken drumsticks and 2 tbsp of maple syrup into a food processor
  • Process until relatively smooth and emulsified
  • Sprinkle sea salt generously over drumsticks and pour marinade over, coating evenly
  • Allow to marinate for at least 1 hour
  • Remove drumsticks from marinade and place onto a greased baking tray
  • Roast in a preheated oven of 425°F for 35 minutes, turning halfway through
  • Make the glaze: simmer marinade in a small saucepan with the remaining 2 tbsp of maple syrup until syrupy
  • Brush drumsticks with glaze and continue roasting for 5 mins
  • Turn over, brush again and and roast for another 5 mins
  • Serve hot or cold

2 thoughts on “Roast chicken drumsticks with blueberry marinade

  1. Pingback: Sticky Chicken Drumsticks | Yummyfoodmadeeasy

  2. I’ve got to try this. Chicken legs are always so boring to me, finally just stopped eating them. Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment